HD 106 Representative Jared Patterson Sworn-In; Files First Bill on Burdensome State Mandates to School Districts

January 8, 2019

Surrounded by family and his fellow members, Representative Jared Patterson (Frisco) took his oath of office noon Tuesday on the floor of the Texas House Chamber. The ceremonies marked the beginning of the 86th Texas Legislature.

“Serving the people of House District 106 is such a tremendous honor,” said Patterson following the swearing-in. “It’s a new day in the Texas House, and I’m very excited to start working on the legislative priorities important to voters in Denton County – property tax reform, public education finance, transportation, and government transparency.”

Soon after taking his oath, Representative Patterson joined his colleagues in electing Representative Dennis Bonnen (Angleton) as the new Speaker of the House. “I’m thrilled to be entering the House under Speaker Bonnen’s new leadership,” said Patterson. “Based on our conversations, I am confident we share the same conservative vision for a vibrant Texas.”

Representative Patterson has already filed his first piece of legislation, House Bill 674. The bill would provide an opportunity for school districts to document and report burdensome unfunded state mandates.
“As a former locally elected official, and from talking with local superintendents across HD 106, I understand the costs that state mandates place on our public schools,” said Patterson. “This bill will help policymakers better understand which specific mandates impose the greatest administrative costs, and could be targeted for adjustment or elimination.”

While Representative Patterson took his oath, a crowd of friends and supporters gathered in his newly-opened office to watch a livestream of the ceremonies. Constituents are encouraged to visit the office in the Capitol Extension, Room E2.716. He can also be reached at 512-463-0694, or [email protected].

Elected in November, Patterson’s district encompasses eastern Denton County, including Aubrey, Frisco, Little Elm, Pilot Point, Sanger, Cross Roads, and The Colony.